Art of Photography

Rob Townsend

My shooting checklist

Leave a comment

OK, as I reach the end of Art of Photography I realise that I left myself a few loose ends to tie up… a few blog posts in my ‘Drafts’ folder that I never got around to completing. Well, as I await my course materials for People & Place I’m going to close off a few of these draft posts!

Starting with… a callback to a post I made back in October last year about the late Tony Ray-Jones and his notebooks. He carried around a note that he titled “Approach”, a list that amounted to his aide-memoire, or maybe manifesto for shooting his particular type of photography (people-focused street photography, I suppose you’d call it).

I finally got around to having a go at my own ‘rules to remember’ checklist. This being the 21st century, I put mine on my phone, and made it my lockscreen wallpaper, so I see it every time I pick up the device :-)

Image

I did nick a couple of the points from Mr Ray-Jones himself…

Leave a Reply

